Skip to content
Mar 6 14

Hire a licensed contractor for spring projects Get a CCB number – we’ll text you the contractor’s license status

by CCB Communications

Salem – If you’re planning to hire a contractor for a spring building or remodeling project, the state Construction Contractors Board (CCB) has made it easier than ever to verify that the contractor is licensed and legal to work in Oregon.

Simply text a CCB license number to 1-503-444-8898. You will receive a reply with the license status and expiration date.

Anyone who does repairs, remodeling or new construction must be licensed with the state, and any advertising must include the CCB number.

“Licensed contractors have bonds and insurance that offer some financial protection to homeowners should a problem arise,” said Berri Leslie, interim CCB administrator. “And, we’ll help mediate any disputes if you’re working with a licensed contractor.”

A residential general contractor, for example, carries a $20,000 bond that can provide restitution in a dispute. Licensed contractors also carry liability insurance that covers property damage or personal injury they might cause.

CCB surveys from recent years show that more than 70 percent of homeowners know that contractors must be licensed. However, more than half of people hiring contractors for major projects do not verify the license.

“It only takes a few seconds to verify that a contractor’s license is active,” Leslie said. “Most construction projects go smoothly when you do your homework by researching the contractor and by making informed decisions during the project.”

Other ways to check license status
You can also check license status,file complaints and report illegal activity by visiting www.oregon.gov/ccb. Or,call 503-378-4621.

For other tips on how to avoid remodeling and construction problems, visit http://ccbed.ccb.state.or.us/WebPDF/CCB/Publications/16-ways.pdf.

About the CCB
The CCB is the state agency licensing 33,000 contractors. Anyone who is paid to repair, improve or build a home must be licensed. Learn more about how to have a successful project at www.oregon.gov/ccb.

Feb 28 14

Lead Renovation, Repair and Painting Rule – February 2014

by CCB Communications

(WASHINGTON, DC – February 18, 2014) – The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) today announced enforcement actions that will require 35 home renovation contractors and training providers to take additional steps to protect communities by minimizing harmful lead dust from home renovation activities, as required by the EPA’s Lead Renovation, Repair, and Painting (RRP) Standards. These standards provide important, front-line protection for children and others vulnerable to exposure to lead dust that can cause lead poisoning. Read more here-http://www2.epa.gov/enforcement/lead-renovation-repair-and-painting-rule-february-2014

Dec 31 13

New Laws That Effect Contractors Beginning January 2014

by CCB Communications

New Residential Continuing Education Requirements SB 783

During the 2013 Legislative session, lawmakers passed SB 783, which was intended to improve the residential continuing education program for Oregon contractors. The new requirements become effective January 1, 2014.

Some highlights of the new law:

  • The required number of hours will be reduced to 8 hours for contractors that have been licensed as a residential contractor for 6 or more years. The required number of hours remains the same for contractors that have been licensed as a residential contractor less than 6 years.
  • The subject areas have been greatly expanded; contractors will have more choices.
  • All education providers must become approved. Courses must be approved or registered. Contractors will be able to find qualifying courses easily on the agency website.
  • CCB’s Laws, Regulations and Business Practices remain part of the requirement; CCB may have agreements with approved providers to offer.

Contractors* that have been licensed as a residential contractor for 6 or more years will have 8 hours of residential continuing education required during the 2-year licensing period:

Subject Area Hours
CCB Laws Regulations and Business Practices (LRB) 3
Series A courses (Business practices and Codes)** 5
Total 8

Contractors that have been licensed as a residential contractor for less than 6 years will have 16 hours of residential continuing education required during the 2-year licensing period:

Subject Area Hours
CCB Laws Regulations and Business Practices (LRB) 3
Series A courses (Business practices and Codes)** 5
Series A courses (Business practices and Codes) or Series B (Trade practices and energy efficiency)** 8
Total 16

See the CCBlog article “More Information on the new Residential Continuing Education program”.

New Residential Endorsements (HB 2801 and SB 207)

The 2013 legislature created four new residential endorsements.

The new endorsement allows a contractor to perform a limited scope of work.

The four new endorsements are:

  1. Residential Locksmith Services Contractor  (Available January 1, 2014)
  2. Home Inspector Services Contractor  (Available January 1, 2014)
  3. Home Services Contractor  (Available January 1, 2014)
  4. Home Energy Performance Services Contractor  (Available July 1, 2014)

Contractors selecting one of the new endorsements will not complete the 16-hour training course or pass the test.  Also, these contractors will not complete continuing education.

To obtain any of these endorsements, an applicant must complete CCB’s application form and pay a license fee of $325.  Licensed contractors may complete a change form and pay the $20 change fee.  A contractor may not hold these endorsements and an endorsement as an ordinary residential.

Residential Contract Requirement changes  (SB 205)

The 2013 legislature removed the requirement (in ORS 701.305) that certain language must be in every residential contract.  Instead, CCB’s rules contain all contract requirements.

The new law no longer requires a contractor to include a statement,in the contract,that the contractor is licensed.  This was unnecessary because a contractor already includes its license number.  Also, the new law no longer requires contractors to list the notices that they provide.  Again, this was unnecessary.  Contractors must give certain notices, which are identified as notices.

The current requirements for a residential contract are set out in CCB’s rule, OAR 812-012-0110.  Each residential contract must contain the following.

  1. The contractor’s name, address, phone number and CCB license number.
  2. The customer’s name and address.
  3. The work site address.
  4. A description of the work to be performed.
  5. The price and payment terms.
  6. If the contract is for a new home,
    1. An acknowledgement of a written offer of warranty, and
    2. Whether the buyer accepts or rejects the offer.
    3. An explanation of the property owner’s contract rights, including the right to file a claim with CCB.

Minor Work Exemption (HB 2524)

Historically, a minor work exemption allowed individuals to do a limited amount of construction without being licensed.  The law exempted any person working on one structure or project, under one or more contracts, when the total price of the work was less than $500.  In addition, the work had to be of a “casual, minor or inconsequential nature” and the person may not advertise services of a contractor. This law has been on the books since 1971.

The 2013 legislature changed the law to raise the exemption limit from $500 to $1,000.  Starting January 1, 2014, a person may perform construction work for less than $1,000 without a license.

The person may not advertise and work must still be “casual, minor or inconsequential”. CCB defines this to mean that the work:

  1. Must not be of a structural nature,
  2. Must not affect health or safety of the owner or occupant; and
  3. Does not include work performed as a subcontractor to a licensed contractor.

Bank Exemption (HB 2524)

In years past, banks have been exempt from needing a contractor’s license to perform construction work.  Concerned that the exemption was too broad, the 2013 legislature changed the law.

Starting January 1, 2014, banks and related companies may arrange for completion, repair or remodeling:

  1. By one or more licensed contractors; and
  2. Only on structures in which a bank or related company has a legal or security interest.

Real Estate Exemption (HB 2524)

Like banks, real estate brokers and their employees have been exempt from needing a contractor’s license to perform construction work.  The 2013 legislature tightened the exemption, but not to the degree it did with banks.  Starting January 1, 2014, real estate brokers and their employees may perform construction work on property managed under contract, but only if the broker engages in the management of real estate.

Leased Worker Exemption (HB 2524)

For many years, businesses that supplied workers to contractors were exempt from needing a contractor’s license.  The 2013 legislature narrowed this exemption.

Starting January 1, 2014, only worker leasing companies or temporary services providers will qualify for the exemption.

A worker leasing company is a company that provides workers on other than a temporary basis.  These companies must be licensed by the Department of Consumer and Business Services.

A temporary service provider is a company that provides workers on a temporary basis.  These companies do not need to be licensed.  However, these companies only provide workers in situations such as worker absences, to cover employee leave or for seasonal work.

Commercial Contractors with Leased Workers (SB 207)

Starting January 1, 2014, if a contractor uses leased workers supplied by a licensed worker leasing company, the contractor is classified nonexempt.

The law classifies contractors as either “exempt” or “nonexempt.”  Ordinarily, exempt contractors do not have employees.  They do not need workers’ compensation insurance.  Nonexempt contractors have employees.  They need workers’ compensation insurance.

In 2009, the legislature required exempt commercial contractors (no employees) to have personal election workers’ compensation insurance.  Personal election coverage is a limited form of workers’ compensation.  It insures the owners and officers of the business.

In some cases, these companies used leased workers.  The leasing company provides workers’ compensation insurance for the workers.

This created a conflict.  Any workers’ compensation insurance for a company covers its leased workers.  But insurers would not cover workers when the owners or officers had personal election insurance.

To eliminate this result, the 2013 legislature reclassified contractors that use leased workers.

Increased Sanctions (HB 2540)

Starting January 1, 2014, CCB may sanction a contractor that supplies false information to avoid financial obligations.  This includes:

  1. Federal, state or local income taxes.
  2. Social security contributions.
  3. Unemployment taxes.
  4. Workers’ compensation premiums.
  5. Wage and hour law required payments.
  6. Federal or state occupational safety and health requirements.
  7. Child support.
  8. Alimony.
  9. Judgments.
  10. Garnishments.
  11. Other laws or debts identified by the board by rule.

The new law also expands unpaid debts.  CCB may sanction a contractor that fails to pay wages owed to its employees.

Oct 17 13

Important Changes to Residential Continuing Education Beginning January 1, 2014

by CCB Communications

During the 2013 Legislative session, Oregon passed a new law that makes important changes to Construction Contractor Board (CCB) Residential Continuing Education (RCE). These changes become effective for contractors renewing on or after January 1, 2014.

The new law is contained in Senate Bill 783. https://olis.leg.state.or.us/LIZ/2009R1/Measures/Text/SB0783/Enrolled

It is designed to improve continuing education for residential contractors.  CORE (BEST and building codes) and electives will no longer be required, but if you complete these courses prior to January 1, 2014, they will apply toward the new education requirements.

For most experienced contractors (those having a CCB residential contractor license for 6 or more years), the required course hours are reduced from 16 to 8. These 8 hours are focused on a broad range of courses relating to business practices.

Contractors with less experience (those having a CCB residential contractor license for less than 6 years) will be required to complete 16 hours of RCE.

The law exempts Residential Developers from RCE.

CCB is working with industry members, education providers and contractors to develop the program structure and supporting Administrative Rules.  Our goal is to complete this by the end of October 2013.

IMPORTANT NOTE:

Contractors renewing their CCB license between now and December 31, 2013 are subject to the law that is currently in effect. See chart below:

Residential Continuing Education  (Renewal: October 1, 2013 – December 31, 2013)

Residential General, Specialty Contractors

Residential
Limited Contractors
Plumbing & Electrical Contractors
Total Hours

16

8

16

CCB Laws,Regulation & Business Practice

3

3

3

Building Codes

2

2

0

Electives

11

3

13

Oct 4 13

BONDING EDUCATION PROGRAM

by CCB Communications

Free Four Week Workshop on Increasing Your Business

The Bonding Education Program’s goals are to educate small construction contractors about industry challenges and to assist participants in their effort to obtain surety bonds or increase their bonding capacity. The program offers unique workshops that apply to transportation related businesses, but other small business will find it valuable as well. Participants will interact with service providers, bonding producers, and learn how to conduct business with local, state and federal agencies.

October 17th, 24th, 30th & 7th
Salem, Oregon

for more info, click on this flyer link: http://ccbed.ccb.state.or.us/WebPDF/CCB/Publications/odot-flyer.pdf

Sep 30 13

CCB hits the street to watch for unlicensed construction activity

by CCB Communications

The Construction Contractors Board (CCB) has hit the streets from the coast to the valley, looking for thieves pretending to be legitimate contractors.

CCB’s Field Investigators are keeping their eyes open for unlicensed construction activity that often surfaces after homes and businesses are damaged by weather events.

Additionally, they are providing home and business owners that were damaged by the early fall storm, information to prevent construction-related fraud.

“The urgency of getting your home or business repaired by a licensed contractor is important,” says Craig P. Smith, CCB Administrator. “But don’t get taken in by scam artists and thieves that play on the situation.”

Smith has a word for unlicensed contractors and construction scammers too, “Stay away.”

Though most contractors are honest and provide good services, homeowners should be proactive and can easily take steps that will help prevent themselves from being victimized.

1. Be wary of unlicensed contractors going door-to-door to repair damage.
2. Be suspicious of contractors who want you to pay 100% upfront or in cash.
3. Always check with the CCB to make sure the contractor is properly licensed through the agency website www.oregon.gov/CCB, or 503-378-4621.

A CCB license offers some financial protection to consumers through the business’ bond and insurance.

The CCB is the state agency licensing more than 36,000 contractors. Anyone who is paid to repair, improve or build a home must be licensed by the CCB. Free consumer publications with helpful tips are available at the CCB’s website and 503-378-4621.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wwzUyO6c1aU

Sep 27 13

CCB alert to homeowners: Be prepared before high winds and rain hit

by CCB Communications

The Construction Contractors Board (CCB) wants to prepare Oregon homeowners who could experience damage from the strong winds and rain that is expected to hit Oregon’s valley and coastal areas to be cautious of thieves pretending to be legitimate contractors. Homeowners whose homes and other property are damaged in storms are prime targets.

“Don’t get taken in by scam artists going door to door, says Craig P. Smith, CCB Administrator. “The stress caused by storm damage can cause homeowners to fall prey to dishonest individuals seeking to take advantage of an already bad situation.”

Homeowners can easily check with the CCB to make sure the contractor is properly licensed through the agency website www.oregon.gov/CCB, or 503-378-4621.

It is important to verify a contractor’s CCB license before paying any money or signing a home repair contract. A CCB license offers some financial protection to consumers through the business’ bond and insurance.

Never pay the full amount up front and don’t pay in cash. Make sure to write your check out to the business name that you have contracted with to do your repair.

“If Oregon experiences areas of heavy damage, CCB Field Investigators will be dispatched to watch for unscrupulous individuals,” says Smith.

The CCB is the state agency licensing more than 36,000 contractors. Anyone who is paid to repair, improve or build a home must be licensed by the CCB. Free consumer publications with helpful tips are available at the CCB’s website and 503-378-4621.

Jun 20 13

CCB to hold “Town Hall” style stakeholder meetings across Oregon in June and July

by CCB Communications

CCB seeks public input regarding current programs and regulatory reforms

Salem—The Construction Contractors Board (CCB) will hold “town hall” style public stakeholder meetings at various community colleges, Small Business Development Center (SBDC).

Visit CCB’s website www.oregon.gov/ccb for the most up to date meeting dates and locations and additional information.

Town Hall Meeting:
The meetings will provide contractors, citizens and others interested in construction licensing regulations, an opportunity to offer input and opinions on matters facing construction contractors, future regulatory reforms, and how the CCB can better serve Oregonians.

Topics include:

  • Financial accountability/surety bonds/recovery funds
  • Contractor continuing education
  • Interagency work compliance/Interagency Compliance Network (ICN)
  • Automation efforts online renewals
  • Contractor licensing categories
  • CCB mission duplication with other agencies
  • CCB’s use of new Secretary of State Central Business Registry to facilitate new license applications
  • Other topics of interest brought up by CCB stakeholders

Tuesday 6-25-13
Clackamas, OR

Clackamas Community College-SBDC 7736 SE Harmony Road OIT Building Rm 172 Milwaukie, OR 97222
9:30 am-11:30 am

Thursday 6-27-13
Seaside, OR

Clatsop Community College – SBDC
1455 North Roosevelt Room 2/3
Seaside OR 97138
9:30 am-11:30 am

Friday 6-28-13
Newport, OR

Oregon Coast Community College-
SBDC 400 SE College Way Rm 140
Newport, OR 97366
9:30 am-11:30 am

Tuesday 7-16-13
Baker City, OR

Blue Mountain Community College
1901 Main Street VAOI Building
Baker City,OR 97814
9:30 am-11:30 am

Thursday 7-18-13
Dalles,OR

Columbia Gorge Comm College-SBCD
400 East Scenic Drive
Lecture Hall, Bldg 2
The Dalles, OR 97058
9:30 am-11:30 am

Friday 7-19-13
Bend, OR

Central Oregon CC/ SBDC
1027 NW Trenton Ave.
Bend, OR 97701
9:30 am-11:30 am

Wednesday 7-24-13
Klamath Falls, OR

Klamath Community College –SBDC
7390 S 6th St Klamath Falls, OR 97603
9:30 am-11:30 am

Thursday 7-25-13
Grants Pass, OR

Rogue Community College -SBDC
214 Southwest 4th Street Auditorium
Grants Pass, OR 97526
9:30 am-11:30 am

Friday 7-26-13
Eugene, OR

Lane Community College SBDC
101 West 10th Avenue #304 -Rm 303
Eugene, OR 97401
9:30 am-11:30 am

Jun 7 13

June 13th- CCB Laws Regulations and Business Practices June 13th

by CCB Communications

Is your CCB license renewal coming up? If you need core credits for your continuing education, the CCB will be hosting it’s second series of CCB Laws Regulations and Business Practices Core Residential Continuing Education (RCE) courses on June 13th at the CCB.

The class capacity is 90 so early registration is suggested. Below is the registration form.

Registration Form:
http://ccbed.ccb.state.or.us/WebPDF/CCB/Publications/RCE_registration_form_6-13-13.pdf

Apr 9 13

Southern Oregon New Contractor Workshop

by CCB Communications

Have you considered becoming a Licensed Construction Contractor in Oregon?

The Construction Contractors Board (CCB) is offering the second in a series of free workshops, throughout the state, for individuals wanting to learn how to become licensed construction contractors. This workshop is scheduled for Friday, April 12th from 3-6 pm at the Southern Oregon Spring Home Show at the Jackson County Expo -1 Peninger Road in Central Point, OR 97502.

CCB staff will discuss the process involved in becoming licensed, including choosing a business entity, and endorsement, license and bonding requirements, and pre-licensure education and testing requirements.

If you have considered becoming a licensed construction contractor in Oregon, this workshop is designed for you. Bring your questions and we will do our best to provide you with the answers you need and the resources to get on the fast track to licensure.

Registration is suggested but not required. For more information contact Jenni at 541.773.2872 or visit http://www.hbajc.com/home-shows/spring-home-show.html

Array ( [0] => Array ( [0] => IMSSP [SQLSTATE] => IMSSP [1] => -14 [code] => -14 [2] => An invalid parameter was passed to sqlsrv_query. [message] => An invalid parameter was passed to sqlsrv_query. ) )

WordPress database error: [1]
UPDATE `wp_options` SET `option_value` = 'a:21:{s:16:"internal_domains";s:20:"blog.ccb.state.or.us";s:10:"account_id";s:13:"UA-11513248-4";s:14:"enable_tracker";b:1;s:15:"track_adm_pages";b:0;s:12:"ignore_users";b:1;s:14:"max_user_level";s:1:"8";s:13:"footer_hooked";b:1;s:14:"filter_content";b:1;s:15:"filter_comments";b:1;s:22:"filter_comment_authors";b:1;s:15:"track_ext_links";b:1;s:16:"prefix_ext_links";s:10:"/outgoing/";s:11:"track_files";b:1;s:17:"prefix_file_links";s:11:"/downloads/";s:16:"track_extensions";s:76:"gif,jpg,jpeg,bmp,png,pdf,mp3,wav,phps,zip,gz,tar,rar,jar,exe,pps,ppt,xls,doc";s:16:"track_mail_links";b:1;s:17:"prefix_mail_links";s:8:"/mailto/";s:5:"debug";b:0;s:13:"check_updates";b:1;s:12:"version_sent";s:5:"1.6.0";s:15:"advanced_config";b:1;}' WHERE `option_name` = 'ultimate_ga_options'--PREPARE